Skip to main content
Intellum

Outline

The Draft  state lets you edit content, set properties, manage enrollments, and more. New activities are created as drafts, ready for development.

This article provides an overview of working with activities in the draft state.

Draft Options


A Draft is the editable state for an activity. Activity content and properties can only be edited while an activity is in the draft state.

Drafts let you:

  • Submit for Review - locks the activity for review
  • Approve - readies reviewed content to be published
  • Publish - locks the activity and makes the content live

Drafts have three workflow statuses based on these options: Unlocked, In Review and Approved.

Edit a draft


An unlocked draft is the default state for any new activities you create. When a draft is unlocked you can add, edit, or update activity content, set activity properties, and create activity enrollments.

For scheduled activities, you can only add or update events connected to the activity while working in the unlocked draft state.

After building your activity content and confirming activity properties, you're ready to move forward in the workflow.

To get a second set of eyes on your activity, you can choose to Submit for Review. This locks the activity to further changes or updates , and puts it in a Submitted for Review workflow status.

Heads Up!

There are no platform notifications tied to versioning workflows. If you choose to use the review and approval process built into versioning, you will need to manage communication of each status with your team.

If you're ready for your Draft to go live, and you have the appropriate permissions, you can Publish your activity. Publishing creates a locked version of the activity that can only be Archived.

To return a previously published activity to a draft state, click Edit.

Submitted for Review


A Submitted for Review workflow status locks an activity to edits. The content, properties, enrollments, and events tied to the activity can only be viewed by an admin while in review.

Admin can make changes or updates to the activity by selecting Unlock in the draft options menu. This returns the draft to an editable state. Click Exit Draft to return to the most recent published version, if available.

If the activity is ready to move forward in the content workflow, an admin can Approve the activity. Doing so puts the activity in the Approved workflow status.

If you're ready for the activity to go live, and you have the appropriate permissions, you can Publish your activity. Publishing creates a locked version of the activity that can only be Archived.

Approved


An Approved workflow status locks an activity to edits. The content, properties, enrollments, and events tied to the activity can only be viewed by an admin. Approved is a locked status designed to let you stage activities before they go live.

If you're ready for the activity to go live, and you have the appropriate admin permissions, you can Publish your activity.

Publishing creates a locked version of the activity that can only be Archived.

Did this article help?

Let us know by leaving a star rating or review at the top of this article.