Skip to main content
Intellum

Outline

This article provides details for each activity state in the versioning workflow.

Activity States


Versioning separates your activities into three distinct states to support a content development workflow:

Draft

A Draft is the editable state for an activity. Activity content and properties can only be edited while an activity is in the draft state.

When you're ready to move the content forward in your workflow, drafts offer three status options:

  • Submit for Review - locks the activity for review
  • Approve - readies reviewed content to be published
  • Publish - locks the activity and makes the content live

Unlock an In Review or Approved draft

Draft activities with a review status can be edited by selecting Unlock in the draft options menu - as seen below:

A Draft activity in review.

Selecting Exit Draft returns you to the Published version of an activity, if available.


Published

Published versions of an activity are locked to content and properties edits and can only be returned to a draft state for editing, or Archived.

Published versions of an activity are locked to content and properties edits and can only be returned to a draft state for editing, or be archived.

Publishing an activity makes it live in the platform and available to users- based on any selected content properties.

Return to draft state

Click Edit to return to a draft state for changes or updates. All draft options are available for workflow follow up, as needed.

Archive a published version

Use the dropdown to find and select Archive. Archiving a published version of an activity removes it from your content catalog for users, but keeps an active draft of the activity available for updates and future publish.

Changes made while in the draft state require you to publish the activity before your content or property changes are be seen by users.

Each new publish of an activity results in a new, numbered version.

When a new version is published, the previous version is automatically archived.


Archived

Archived versions of an activity are locked to content and properties edits, but can be restored to be republished or updated. You will find an activity's archived versions linked in the versioning header.

Click Exit Archive to return to the most current published version, if available.

Revisiting archived versions can help you review the edits and updates made to an activity as it was developed and published. Use the Archived Versions link to revisit and review past versions of an activity.

If you restore an archived version of an activity, the restored version is published, replacing and archiving the current published version.

Did this article help?

Let us know by leaving a star rating or review at the top of this article.