Skip to main content
Intellum

Outline

This article details a point in the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines and what the implications are for creating accessible course content in Evolve and is part of a larger path.

To view the full guidelines, please visit the Accessibility: WCAG 2.1 and Evolve path.

Guideline 2.2.1


Timing Adjustable Level A For each time limit that is set by the content, at least one of the following is true:

  • Turn off: The user is allowed to turn off the time limit before encountering it; or
  • Adjust: The user is allowed to adjust the time limit before encountering it over a wide range that is at least ten times the length of the default setting; or
  • Extend: The user is warned before time expires and given at least 20 seconds to extend the time limit with a simple action (for example, "press the space bar"), and the user is allowed to extend the time limit at least ten times; or
  • Real-time Exception: The time limit is a required part of a real-time event (for example, an auction), and no alternative to the time limit is possible; or
  • Essential Exception: The time limit is essential and extending it would invalidate the activity; or
  • 20 Hour Exception: The time limit is longer than 20 hours.

Explanation


If any element has a timed element, the user can adjust or turn off.

What does this mean for your content in Evolve?


Whilst timers can be used in some interactions in Evolve, it would be our advice that these aren’t included in a course that has an accessibility requirement.

Guideline 2.2.2


Pause, Stop, Hide Level A For moving, blinking, scrolling, or auto-updating information, all of the following are true:

  • Moving, blinking, scrolling: For any moving, blinking or scrolling information that (1) starts automatically, (2) lasts more than five seconds, and (3) is presented in parallel with other content, there is a mechanism for the user to pause, stop, or hide it unless the movement, blinking, or scrolling is part of an activity where it is essential; and
  • Auto-updating: For any auto-updating information that (1) starts automatically and (2) is presented in parallel with other content, there is a mechanism for the user to pause, stop, or hide it or to control the frequency of the update unless the auto-updating is part of an activity where it is essential.

Explanation

Any blinking, scrolling, or auto-updating content can be turned off by the user.

What does this mean for your content in Evolve?

This isn’t really relevant to eLearning and is more geared to typical web content. Nothing in Evolve relies upon automated scrolling, blinking, or auto-updating.

Guideline 2.2.3


No Timing Level AAA Timing is not an essential part of the event or activity presented by the content, except for non-interactive synchronized media and real-time events.

Explanation


Timing must not be an essential part of any of your content.

What does this mean for your content in Evolve?

The only interaction in Evolve that has a timing element on by default is the Interactive Video Component - but this can easily be turned off. Whilst other components may include a timed element, these are switched off by default.

Guideline 2.2.4


 Interruptions Level AAA Interruptions can be postponed or suppressed by the user, except interruptions involving an emergency.

Explanation


Self-explanatory - that unwanted interruptions to the learning can be switched off unless it’s an emergency.

What does this mean for your content in Evolve?


This isn’t really relevant to Evolve - there are no events that occur within a course that would fit this description.

Guideline 2.2.5


Re-authenticating Level AAA When an authenticated session expires, the user can continue the activity without loss of data after re-authenticating.

Explanation


That if a logged-into session expires, data isn’t lost after signing in again.

What does this mean for your content in Evolve?

This isn’t really relevant to Evolve, but more relevant to the medium by which a course is delivered. Some Learning Management Systems (LMS) can log learners out after extended periods of inactivity. If unsure, check with your LMS provider as to what happens when a learner’s session expires.

Guideline 2.2.6


Timeouts Level AAA Users are warned of the duration of any user inactivity that could cause data loss unless the data is preserved for more than 20 hours when the user does not take any actions.

Explanation


Users are warned if your content ‘times out’.

What does this mean for your content in Evolve?


As for 2.2.5, this is more down to the LMS or website hosting your course than Evolve itself — an Evolve course won’t ‘time out’ on its own.

Did this article help?

Let us know by leaving a star rating or review at the top of this article.

Skills
0