Skip to main content
Intellum

Outline

Auto Enrollments allow you to assign an activity to users in one or more groups or your entire organization. In this article, you'll learn how to create an auto enrollment for an activity as we dive deep into auto enrollment properties and how they can help you automate enrollment tasks.

Auto enrollment overview


Once an auto enrollment is created, all users that apply will be enrolled in the activity you've specified; enrollments will then be processed in the Intellum platform that same night.

Moving forward, each new user who meets the criteria for auto enrollment will be enrolled in the selected activity. This cuts down on manual work, freeing up your workload!

Auto enrollments are also possible with recurring assignments, such as activities that are required at the same time every year or activities that are required at regular intervals.

Create an auto enrollment


Follow the steps below to create an auto enrollment for an activity:

Select the activity you wish to create the auto enrollment for from the Content List page (via the Content tab in the navigation menu). You will see the Properties tab at the top of the activity page. Click the Advanced menu option on the left-hand side.

Scroll to the Advanced Enrollment Properties section. The Auto Enrollment field contains a dropdown with three options:

  • Do not auto enroll
  • Auto enroll entire company
  • Auto enroll by group

Note: If you would like to automatically enroll every active user in the Intellum platform, choose Auto enroll entire company. If you have created groups that need to be auto enrolled, choose Auto enroll by group. You will then be prompted to choose the necessary groups to enroll. You can add as many as you’d like.

Choosing either of the above options displays an additional set of defining properties — more on that is mentioned below!

Click Save Changes when finished.

Auto enrollment setup


If you chose Auto enroll by group, you'll need to select one or more groups from the dropdown. Click the Add button for each group you want to add to this auto enrollment.

If you only want to auto enroll learners hired after a certain date, you can signify this in the dropdown menu, as well as a reason for adding this enrollment for additional context. Both fields in this menu are optional.

Optionally and for more efficiency, you can create recommended auto enrollments (in addition to required auto enrollments) for future use.

Recurring auto enrollments & due dates


You have to ability to set recurring auto enrollments. The options for recurring (and non-recurring) auto enrollments are as follows:

  1. One time requirement: Enroll user(s) into an activity one time only.

  2. Annual recurring requirement: Re-enroll user(s) each year on the date specified in the Due each year on field.

  3. Custom recurring requirement: Re-enroll user(s) in specific recurring intervals of time.

Heads Up!

When a user completes a recurring requirement for the current period (annual or custom), they will be enrolled in the next training period’s requirement, and their due date will reflect this. For example, if a user has completed the training for the 2019-2020 period, they will automatically be enrolled in the training for the 2020-2021 period with a due date in 2021.

In addition, you have the ability to set due dates for auto enrollment:

  1. Due within: Set a specific number of days for enrollment due date.
  2. Due on: The date the enrollment is due.
  3. Due each year on: Select a month and day for enrollment due date.

Note: As an option, you can also select initial enrollment due dates when you choose annual and custom reccurring requirements.


Notes on auto enrollment

When it comes to timing, if auto enrollments are created as outlined in this article, they will not be created for any group members until the overnight batch processing has occurred. This is also true for users created via an integration where group membership is defined.

If, however, a user's group memberships are changed via the user interface, or is the user is manually entered into a group (both of which are set up for auto enrollments) — they will be enrolled immediately.

Did this article help?

Let us know by leaving a star rating or review at the top of this article.