Skip to main content
Intellum

Restricted Admin Permissions control the level of access of each Restricted Admin has to add, edit, or manage core components of the platform, like users, activities, and events.

This article walks you through accessing the Restricted Admin Permissions in a user’s profile and breaks down the access level granted by each permission setting.

Access Restricted Admin Permissions


Restricted Admin Permissions are made available to Unrestricted Admin when a new Restricted Admin is created. To review or update an existing Restricted Admin’s permissions, access their user Properties.

Access a Restricted Admin's user profile to find Restricted Admin Permissions
  1. Navigate to Users.
  2. Use the filter tool on the Users page to narrow the user list or use Search to find a specific user.
  3. Select a Restricted Admin from the list.
  4. Click the Edit button.
  5. Select the Properties tab.
  6. Scroll to find the Restricted Admin Permissions.

Restricted Admin Permissions


Restricted Admin Permissions give you control of a Restricted Admin’s access level to manage, create, and/or edit:

Users
Reports
Content
Events
Letters
Comment

Explore each component and related permissions in the sections below.


Users Permissions

User permissions control the Restricted Admin’s ability to add, manage, and edit user enrollments, external credits, and profile properties. Restricted Admin do not have access to assign or edit any group memberships, or to the Log in as this user option.

User Restrictions:

  • This setting controls which segment of users you want the Restricted Admin to be able to manage and add users to:
    • Everybody: the Restricted Admin can access all user profiles and add new users to the platform.
    • People in specified groups: the Restricted Admin can access the profiles of users within, and add new users to, only the group(s) assigned to her through this permission.
    • People that have [Restricted Admin Name] set as their manager: the Restricted Admin can access only the profiles of users they manage. the Restricted Admin is automatically set as the manager of any new user she creates.

Users

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin’s access to users in the platform:
    • Off : the Restricted Admin has no access to users and cannot access Users in the admin navigation.
    • On: the Restricted Admin can access users - based on the User Restriction permission set on her account.

Reports Permissions

Reports permissions control the Restricted Admin’s ability to run, create, and export reports in the platform. Restricted Admin do not have access to directly edit any report created by another admin, but can be given access to copy or rename any existing report.

Heads Up!

The data available in the reporting tool is controlled by the other Restricted Admin Permissions set on a user's account.
>
Example: If an admin's User Restriction is set to People in specified groups, the admin will only be able to pull reports including users in those groups.


Reports

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin’s access to run existing reports in the platform.
    • Off : the Restricted Admin has no access to reports and cannot access Reports in the admin navigation.
    • Specified reports: the Restricted Admin can access and run only saved reports she is assigned to.
    • All reports: the Restricted Admin can access and run all saved reports in the platform.

Reports Edit

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin’s ability to create new reports; as well as copy, or rename saved reports in the platform.
    • Off : the Restricted Admin cannot create new reports or access options to filter, copy, or rename saved reports.
    • On: the Restricted Admin can create new reports, and access options to filter, copy, or rename saved reports - based on the Reports permission set on her account.

Content Permissions

Content permissions control the Restricted Admin's ability to manage user enrollments for learning activities, and grants them access to create new activities, and edit, duplicate, or delete existing activities. Restricted Admin with Content permissions can manage user enrollments through the activities.

Content

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin’s ability to create, edit, or delete user enrollments for activities in the platform - including the ability to bulk edit and bulk delete user enrollments.
    • Off : the Restricted Admin has no access to manage user enrollments and cannot access Activities in the admin navigation.
    • Specified activities: the Restricted Admin can only manage user enrollments for the activities she is assigned to.
    • All activities: the Restricted Admin can manage user enrollments for all learning activities in the platform.

Content Edit

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin’s ability to create new activities, as well as edit, duplicate, or delete existing activities.
    • Off : the Restricted Admin cannot create new activities, and has no access to edit, duplicate, or delete existing activities or activity content.
    • On: the Restricted Admin can create new activities, and edit, duplicate, or delete existing activities or activity content - based on the Activities permission set on her account.

Content Publishing | Versioning Accounts

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin's ability to Publish activities and works in conjunction with their Content Edit permission.
    • Off: The Restricted Admin cannot Publish activities.
    • On: The Restricted Admin can Publish activities.

Events Permissions

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin’s ability to create new events, edit the Properties of existing events, and manage user enrollments and the user roster for events - including the ability to bulk import, or bulk edit and delete user enrollments.
    • Off : the Restricted Admin cannot create, edit, or manage user enrollments for events. The Restricted Admin cannot access Events in the admin navigation.
    • Specified events: the Restricted Admin can create new events - based on the Activities permissions set on her account - or edit the Properties, and manage user enrollments for the events she is assigned to.
    • All events: the Restricted Admin can create new events - based on the Activities permissions set on her account - and manage user enrollments for all events in the platform.

Letters Permissions

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin’s ability to create Letters, and edit or delete existing Letters in the platform. Restricted Admin do not have access to assign other Restricted Admin to Letters.
    • Off: the Restricted admin has no access to create or edit Letters and cannot see Letters in the admin navigation.
    • Specified letters: the Restricted Admin can create new Letters, and edit or delete only the Letters she’s been assigned to.
    • All letters: the Restricted Admin can create new Letters, and edit or delete all Letters in the platform.

Comments Permissions

  • This setting controls the Restricted Admin’s ability to act as a moderator in discussion posts connected to your activities. Comments can be deleted by a Restricted Admin by viewing an activity in Learner View.
    • Off: the Restricted Admin has no access to delete comments on activities, but can still participate in comment threads.
    • Specified activities: the Restricted Admin can delete user comments from any activity she is assigned to.
    • All activities: the Restricted Admin can delete users comments from any activity in the platform.